Texas Ed: Comments on Education from Texas

September 3, 2006

Homeschooing isn’t as safe as you think

Filed under: Homeschooling, Religious Right — texased @ 9:30 pm

To all those who are thinking about following the advice of those in the Southern Baptist Convention to pull your kids from the public school to homeschool, beware, I’m a homeschooler.

I teach my son evolution as a scientific theory and creationism as a belief. I don’t believe teachers, or coaches, or principals should be leading students in prayer in school. Students are welcomed to pray all they want and even form their own religiously-based student clubs–you did realize that they are allowed to do that?–but the school is not responsible for teaching my son his faith.

I don’t believe homosexuality is a choice and don’t think my marriage needs protecting from gay marriage. Probably has something to do with the fact that I didn’t change my last name when I got married. While I wouldn’t choose abortion, I’m not going to tell some other woman what to do with her life, that makes me pro-choice. I think Bush will go down as having lead the United States into one of the most disastrous foreign policies that U.S. has had in the last 100 years and I voted for Kerry.

Why am I telling you all this? Because I’m a homeschooler and I wouldn’t want you to think that simply by homeschooling you are going to protect yourself from such distasteful, immoral, people. Not even in Texas.

There was a time during the late 80’s and early 90’s when religious-based homeschool groups could at least ensure that people like me kept our mouths shut so that we could participate in coops, park days, and such. But now there are so many inclusive options that people aren’t willing to put up with narrow-minded thinking for the sake of playing on a basketball team. Of course, there are still plenty of exclusive groups out there but they are becoming increasingly selective and rigid in who they accept as members. When they start throwing out the Catholics, their true colors shine through.

If you homeschool, you don’t have to associate with me. However, you will have to figure out who I am because I’m not wearing my beliefs on my sleeve (maybe on my blog but not my sleeve.) And while you’re trying to figure out who I am, you might find that we do have quite a bit in common, worries about peer pressure, drugs, violence, education quality, and civic values.

However, if we can’t respectfully agree to disagree, I’m sure you will find a group quite willing to accept you and shelter you from people like me. But as you build up your walls of protection, you might ask yourself if they are keeping me out or locking you in.

Blog at WordPress.com.