Texas Ed: Comments on Education from Texas

September 3, 2006

Homeschooing isn’t as safe as you think

Filed under: Homeschooling, Religious Right — texased @ 9:30 pm

To all those who are thinking about following the advice of those in the Southern Baptist Convention to pull your kids from the public school to homeschool, beware, I’m a homeschooler.

I teach my son evolution as a scientific theory and creationism as a belief. I don’t believe teachers, or coaches, or principals should be leading students in prayer in school. Students are welcomed to pray all they want and even form their own religiously-based student clubs–you did realize that they are allowed to do that?–but the school is not responsible for teaching my son his faith.

I don’t believe homosexuality is a choice and don’t think my marriage needs protecting from gay marriage. Probably has something to do with the fact that I didn’t change my last name when I got married. While I wouldn’t choose abortion, I’m not going to tell some other woman what to do with her life, that makes me pro-choice. I think Bush will go down as having lead the United States into one of the most disastrous foreign policies that U.S. has had in the last 100 years and I voted for Kerry.

Why am I telling you all this? Because I’m a homeschooler and I wouldn’t want you to think that simply by homeschooling you are going to protect yourself from such distasteful, immoral, people. Not even in Texas.

There was a time during the late 80’s and early 90’s when religious-based homeschool groups could at least ensure that people like me kept our mouths shut so that we could participate in coops, park days, and such. But now there are so many inclusive options that people aren’t willing to put up with narrow-minded thinking for the sake of playing on a basketball team. Of course, there are still plenty of exclusive groups out there but they are becoming increasingly selective and rigid in who they accept as members. When they start throwing out the Catholics, their true colors shine through.

If you homeschool, you don’t have to associate with me. However, you will have to figure out who I am because I’m not wearing my beliefs on my sleeve (maybe on my blog but not my sleeve.) And while you’re trying to figure out who I am, you might find that we do have quite a bit in common, worries about peer pressure, drugs, violence, education quality, and civic values.

However, if we can’t respectfully agree to disagree, I’m sure you will find a group quite willing to accept you and shelter you from people like me. But as you build up your walls of protection, you might ask yourself if they are keeping me out or locking you in.

5 Comments »

  1. Once upon a time most homeschoolers were parents far away from schools, or parents who could do a much better job than the schools, due to their advanced degrees and teaching experience. Home schooling was very much an affair of being much tougher than the local schools could be, to encourage some sparks of genius in the kids. Textbooks used often were college texts, or books from a Great Books curriculum at some school like St. Johns College. Kids schooled there were avidly sought after by high schools and colleges.

    Our local homeschooling supply stores generally have absolutely nothing on evolution, and very little on cosmological physics. Texts in most topics seem to be more juvenile than comparable public school texts, to me. I can only wonder at what else those kids are missing.

    Comment by edarrell — September 4, 2006 @ 6:15 pm

  2. I have never been to our local homeschool bookstore since it’s run by a very conservative statement of faith organization but I would imagine it’s not so different from the one you described.

    Unfortunately, I think the “dumbing down” is happening everywhere. I have a friend whose daughter attends a local, well respected high school. She became concerned when her daughter, a junior, had no homework. She checked out the English classes and found out that the regular English classes listened to one book per semester during class. They didn’t have to read it all. She got her transferred to the AP class and now she has homework. However, it’s probably just what should have been given in the regular class.

    I know someone who has just retired as a high school German teacher and is teaching German to homeschoolers. She decided to go with the 1985 edition of a text book because she said the more recent additions have become thicker but actually contain less information.

    I really can’t judge other homeschoolers, especially those who are more concerned with the religious aspects of text books since I tend not to associate with them. I do know that what passes for quality in online material is often disappointing. Ultimately, what passes for “mainstream” in public schools or homeschooling probably have more negative trends in common than positive.

    Comment by texased — September 4, 2006 @ 8:51 pm

  3. This is a great post, I really am enjoying your blog. Just thought I should say you’re doing a great job.

    Comment by home shool — October 16, 2006 @ 2:00 pm

  4. Thanks!

    Comment by texased — October 17, 2006 @ 9:15 am

  5. Hey there,It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest to you a few interesting things or maybe humble advice. Maybe you could write the next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about the subject! Thank you and good luck to you.

    Comment by Gita Lallier — September 19, 2011 @ 10:18 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

