Texas Ed: Comments on Education from Texas

September 15, 2006

Learning Science

Filed under: Homeschooling — texased @ 12:51 pm

Linda over at Life Without School has a wonderful post on science.

Life Without School:

One of my pet peeves in science when I was a kid was how the regular science class was taught. Most science curriculum focused (and still does) on drilling concepts. Most kids could simply recite lab results and ‘facts’ from textbooks, follow lab instructions, and keep neat lab books. But, put them in a field situation where they needed to think and develop their own tests and procedures to solve a problem and they could not even start. As for me – I refused to memorize facts, hated performing demonstration labs (watching the teacher do it was enough), struggled with keeping my lab book neat, and thought lab time (and most class time) was wasted time.

I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one that found labs a waste of time. Fortunately for her, she had other opportunities to do her own research.

I thought I was supposed to be an engineer because I received good grades in science and math. In reality, all that meant was that I was good at getting grades. This isn’t to say that I’m not capable of doing science, I just didn’t really care except for how it might help me to get into college.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.